Blogging with Parkinson's

A personal perspective on Young Onset Parkinson's

Up Your What?

3 Comments

Oh, dear.

I’m afraid that I am growing quite annoyed with those three harmless little words.

“Up Your Friendly.”

Putting “up” and “your” next to one another is a potentially dangerous move. Adding an adjective on the end very nearly turns the phrase into nonsense, irregardless of how rude you might expect the phrase to get. That adjective would certainly have a hypothetical old-fashioned teacher of grammar frothing at the mouth.

It is, of course, possible to decipher the intended meaning with little or no difficulty, but it jars. It’s just wrong.

Where did it come from?

Well, this is entirely conjecture, but I suspect that the folks at Parkinson’s UK made it up. It appears to be influenced by the gambling term “Up the ante”, which means to raise the stakes. I gather that it’s a poker term.

Considering that compulsive gambling can be a (very) damaging side effect of some Parkinson’s medication, I’m not sure how helpful that association is.

Sorry, Parkinson’s UK. I like the idea, but I think you could have phrased it better.

At least it gives me an excuse to link to a Suzanne Vega video. I gather that Suzanne’s mother has Parkinson’s, and that Suzanne has played a benefit concert or two.

3 thoughts on “Up Your What?

  1. This is one that completely grates on my nerves as well. (Is it a PD quirk? haha)

    Just yesterday I was complaining to my husband about a sports commentator use “up” as a verb instead of “raise”. It drives me bonkers!

  2. …and “lower” instead of reduce.
    And “prideful” instead of proud. (“Prideful” is in Webster’s).
    And “irregardless”. That {adverb] would certainly have a hypothetical old-fashioned teacher of grammar frothing at the mouth.
    🙂
    I agree completely, Amanda.

  3. The blatant mauling of the English language that has been committed with this slogan. Couldn’t agree with you more.

Leave a Reply

