Blogging with Parkinson's

A personal perspective on Young Onset Parkinson's

Metaphorical Doors

Leave a comment

hoteldogolfdoor Bromley3L-2doors whitedoor20pc Darwinsgreenhousedoor bromley3-R-RearOf41-door 24swanstreetconte-door
Left to right: Hotel do Golf, The Little Theatre, Sketch (front door), Darwin’s Greenhouse, Rear of 41, Studio Sketch

I’m closing one door behind me and hoping that the one in front of me leads somewhere.

I resigned from my technical writing job at the beginning of the month. There were a lot of reasons for the decision, and only two opposing it – but the opposition loomed large and coherent. In the blue corner: financial security and a career that I used to love. In the red corner: a tangled mess of emotion and disappointment, with two strands shining clear: my family and my art.

We have a fantastic childminder, but I still want to be there for my children.

And… could I possibly make a career out of art? While juggling motherhood, housework (sadly, it needs doing) and Parkinson’s?

I’m going to try. I won’t know if I don’t try.

Full time mother.
Full time artist.
Part time housewife.

It wouldn’t be possible without my wonderful husband’s support.

Leave a Reply

