Blogging with Parkinson's

A personal perspective on Young Onset Parkinson's

Slender Threads – A book by Pete Langman

Leave a comment

Have you come across Pete Langman? He’s another blogger with young onset Parkinson’s – you’ll find his blog at petelangman.com.

He was diagnosed five years ago, and seem to have had a bit of a rough time of it. Now he has written a book on the subject, based on his own experience. The book is called Slender Threads: a young person’s guide to Parkinson’s Disease. He’s a talented writer; I have high expectations.

I’ve got a paper copy on order (I’m old fashioned, me – but electronic copies can also be bought). I expect that I’ll post a review eventually, but I wanted to tell you that the book existed.

And that 30% of the royalties will go to fund research into Parkinson’s.

This is Pete’s  pitch:

Five years ago, on January 30th, my life changed. It changed because a consultant uttered the words ‘you have Parkinson’s’.

In the months that followed, my marriage, my career, and my sense of self took an almighty battering.

Just over a year ago, I started to write my story, because I had struggled – and continue to struggle – to make sense of my condition. I reckoned others might have the same problem, and I hoped that by sharing I might be able to help both them and myself.

I had no trouble finding out technical stuff about Parkinson’s, this being the age of instant information, and at some points it felt as if I was finding out too much, too fast, especially during the process of diagnosis. But there was far less information on the way it makes you feel … especially when diagnosed at or before 40, what they term ‘early-onset’ Parkinson’s.

Bloggers such as Zalamanda, Jon Stamford, Colleen Henderson-Heyward, Viktor Tron and others have gone a long way towards redressing this balance, but I wanted to take it a step further.

The book pulls no punches. I try to talk to the reader the way I wanted people to talk to me, both during diagnosis and now. I didn’t want to hear people telling me how they knew I’d fight it, how I had to remain positive, how you couldn’t really tell, all that stuff. I wanted to confront the reality of the situation, so that I could find a way of dealing with it.

It’s been difficult to write. Some people have, and will, find it equally difficult to read. When I hear that someone’s reading it, part of me leaps for joy that they think something I’ve written is worth reading, while another part of me cowers in the corner.

Ultimately, I wrote it because I had to.

And he mentioned me! Im flattered. But I would have bought the book anyhow.

Leave a Reply

