Blogging with Parkinson's

A personal perspective on Young Onset Parkinson's

More News on Cycling and Parkinson’s

Leave a comment

Don’t expect this from me all the time, but this snippet of news comes to you almost hot off the press, being only two days old as I type this.

'Found' Clip Art

So, just how do you fit a basket on drop handlebars?

 

The Telegraph reports that doctors in the Netherlands (again! – I’d ask what is it about the Netherlands and cycling, but we all know that it’s got at least a little to do with not having any hills worth mentioning; I just wonder why UEA and my own alma mater, the University of Hull, haven’t jumped on the pedal-powered bandwagon) have proposed a ‘test’ for Parkinson’s patients that apparently performs better than expensive medical tests in determining what type of Parkinson’s a patient has.

The new test is a simple query: can you still ride a bike? If the answer is ‘yes’, then the patient is likely to have the standard variant of Parkinson’s. If ‘no’, then it is possible that they have atypical Parkinson’s.

Atypical Parkinson’s is a particularly nasty form of the condition that adds cognitive and memory problems to the motor issues usually associated with Parkinson’s.

I’m very happy to say that I can, indeed, still ride my bike. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever felt so relieved about being able to cycle.

Leave a Reply

