Blogging with Parkinson's

A personal perspective on Young Onset Parkinson's

The Benefits of Cardiovascular Exercise

Leave a comment

My physiotherapist came to see me on Monday. She was fresh from the World Parkinson’s Congress (WPC) and was quite  full of the news that cardiovascular exercise (also known as aerobic exercise) had been shown to help prevent the loss of dopamine functionality in the brain. Unfortunately, I can’t find an online reference to this; I’d like to follow it up and inspect the evidence for myself.

However, it sounds like good news. The only side effects of exercise (within reasonable bounds) are good ones, like overall improvements in fitness.

So it looks like I need to get stuck into finding an exercise regime that suits me. Not just a few weights and stretches, but the sweaty sort of stuff. The difficulty will be making it part of my routine…

See also ‘How Forced Exercise Helps Parkinsonian Symptoms‘ for an official news story on this subject.

Leave a Reply

